Margaret McGlynn, R.Ph., MBA
Mrs. McGlynn joined Abcombi as an advisor in 2015. Mrs. McGlynn has served as global leader in the pharmaceutical field through her roles as the President and Chief Executive Officer of the International AIDS Vaccine Initiative (IAVI) from 2011-2015 and as the President of Global Vaccines and Infectious Diseases for Merck & Co., Inc. In her nearly three decades at Merck, Mrs. McGlynn held a multiple leadership roles focused on marketing and sales and managed care activities for Merck’s portfolio of pharmaceutical products. She currently serves on the Board of Directors at Air Products, Amicus Therapeutics, and Vertex Pharmaceuticals. She is a member of the National Industrial Advisory Committee at the University at Buffalo School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences.

Charles Jones, Ph.D., MBA.

Prior to joining Abcombi Biosciences, Dr. Jones developed the core IP used to found the company during his Ph.D. studies at the University at Buffalo. Previously, Dr. Jones was employed by Advanced Liquid Logics (acquired by Illumina) as a member of the Point of Care team. He has also been active in the Western New York and national business venture and development activities including the selective NSF I-Corps program. Dr. Jones has published over 20 peer-reviewed articles in scientific journals that include Nature Biotechnology, Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, and Science Advances. Dr. Jones has degrees in Chemical Engineering (B.S. and Ph.D.) and Biochemistry (B.S.) and completed his MBA at the University of Chicago's Booth School of Business.

Stanley Plotkin, MD
Dr. Stanley A. Plotkin, M.D., is an Emeritus Professor of the University of Pennsylvania and Adjunct Professor of the Johns Hopkins University. Until 1991 he was a Professor Emeritus of Virology at The Wistar Institute and Professor Emeritus of Pediatrics at the University of Pennsylvania. His accomplishments as a professor include the publication of more than 700 articles and books including ‘Vaccines’, and he helped demonstrate the efficacy of the current anthrax vaccine. During the 40-year span of his career in the field of vaccinology, he developed the rubella vaccine, now in use, and worked extensively on a range of other vaccines, including those addressing polio, rabies, varicella and cytomegalovirus. His contributions have been recognized with numerous awards during his career, including the Sabin Foundation Medal, the French Legion of Honor Medal, the Distinguished Physician Award, the Bruce Medal, and the Bristol Award. Dr. Plotkin has also served as a critical advisor to Sanofi Pasteur and Aventis Pasteur, and has served as Senior Vice President of Sanofi-Aventis, the Medical and Scientific Director at Pasteur Merieux Connaught, and the Director of Infectious Disease and Senior Physician at the Children's Hospital of Philadelphia. He has also served on the Board of Directors or Scientific Advisory board of numerous companies including Dynavax Technologies, CureVac AG, and VBI Vaccines, Inc.

Elaine Tuomanen, MD
Dr. Tuomanen serves as the Chair of Infectious Diseases at St. Jude Children's Research Hospital. She has received numerous awards including the Pediatric Infectious Diseases Society's Inaugural Distinguished Research Award in 2014 and was selected as one of “America’s Top Pediatricians” in 2006. Dr. Tuomanen’s research focuses on characterizing the molecular pathogenesis of Streprococcus pneumoniae invasion and inflammation.

David Briles, Ph.D.
Dr. Briles is a Professor of Microbiology and Pediatrics at the University of Alabama at Birmingham. He is considered one of the leading experts in pneumococcal pathogenesis and medical interventions. His research focuses on identifying protein virulence factors of Streptococcus pneumoniae, determining their role in pathogenesis, and evaluating their potential use in vaccines. He has also developed surrogate assays to measure the protective immunity achieved through vaccination with pneumococcal protein antigens. Dr. Briles has also served as an advisor to the WHO, PAHO, FDA, and the PATH foundation regarding the potential of human vaccines using pneumococcal proteins.

Anders Hakansson, Ph.D.
Dr. Hakansson is a professor at LUND University and is an investigator of the pathogenesis of Streptococcus pneumoniae. His research focuses on characterizing the biochemical and biophysical mechanisms that are associated with human colonization by S. pneumoniae. This includes the discovery and characterization of various factors that play a role in tissue adherence, biofilm formation, and host immunity escape by S. pneumoniae.

Blaine Pfeifer, Ph.D.
Dr. Pfeifer is an Associate Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering at the University at Buffalo. His research focuses on natural product biosynthesis and vaccine delivery systems. Technology and IP developed in the Pfeifer laboratory is currently the basis for two start-up ventures, including Abcombi Biosciences, Inc.

Paul Knight, III, MD, Ph.D.
Dr. Knight is a Distinguished Professor in the Department of Anesthesiology and Microbiology at the University at Buffalo. His research focuses on respiratory complications associated with disease, inflammatory responses, and medical treatments. Furthermore, he co-developed a novel RNA-based therapy for influenza with Dr. Bruce Davidson that is being developed by Abcombi.

Paras Prasad, Ph.D.
Dr. Paras N. Prasad is a Distinguished Professor of Chemistry, Physics, Medicine and Electrical Engineering at the University at Buffalo. He has published over 700 scientific articles, co-edited six books, and holds several patents. His research focuses on developing imaging techniques for non-invasive biomedical applications, single-cell imaging, and analyzing nanometer-scale structures. He is also a Fellow of the American Physical Society and the Optical Society of America.